Florida flhealthsource.gov

Florida flhealthsource.gov DEFAULT

The information provided is an overview only and licensees are encouraged to become familiar with the profession’s continuing education rules, Chapter 64B11-5.001 & Chapter 64B11-6.001, Florida Administrative Code, to ensure that they meet the Board’s specific requirements for renewal.

Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

To locate board approved CE Courses for Occupational Therapists, please click here.
To locate board approved CE Courses for Occupational Therapy Assistants, please click here.

REQUIRED SUBJECT AREAREQUIRED NUMBER OF HOURSIMPORTANT INFORMATION
General Hours22A minimum of fourteen (14) “Live” CE hours. Twelve (12) hours limited as Home Study. *See below under “Helpful Information”.
Medical Error2 Must be a course offered by a Board approved provider
Laws and Rules2 Must be a course offered by a Board approved provider

sm_divider

Current licenses expire at midnight, Eastern Time, on February 28, 2023.

First Renewal:  Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants renewing a license for the first time and were licensed in the second half of the biennium (on or after 03/01/2022 through to 02/28/2023) are exempt from the 26 hours of general continuing education. However, you are required to complete 3 hours, consisting of:

  • 1 hour of HIV/AIDS course. For the HIV/AIDS course this is a first renewal only requirement, and any course approved by any of the professions regulated within the Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance is acceptable.
  • 2 hours in Prevention of Medical Errors (must be a Florida OT Board approved course).

Continuing education hours can only be credited after one is licensed and within the current biennium dates in which they are taken.

Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants renewing a license for the first time and were licensed in the first half of the biennium (on or after 03/01/2021 through to 02/28/2022) are required to complete all 26 as stated above, including the HIV/AIDS 1 hour (for first renewal only) requirement. The board approves any course approved by any of the professions regulated within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance, the Department of Health.

  • 1 hour of HIV/AIDS. For the HIV/AIDS course this is a first renewal only requirement, and any course approved by any of the professions regulated within the Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance is acceptable.
  • 2 hours in Prevention of Medical Errors (must be a Florida OT Board approved course) and
  • 2 hours in Florida Laws and Rules (must be a Florida OT Board approved course).
  • Including 14 “Live” hours. At least fourteen (14) of the required hours per biennium must be in person or from interactive, real-time courses. An interactive, real-time course may be a web-based, satellite transmitted, telephone or video conference, or online instruction program that allows or requires the licensee to interact in real time, including live chat, with the instructor during the presentation of the program. See Rule 64B11-5.001(3)
  • No more than 12 Home Study hours. Note CE: Broker identifies Home Study hours as “Anytime hours”). A licensee may receive continuing education credit for no more than twelve (12) hours of home study education per biennium. Home study education is a self-paced, non-interactive independent study that requires a certificate of completion. Taking a computerized exam at the end of the study or being able to email the instructor with a question, does not qualify home study as a live or interactive course. Continuing education credit for video presentations is limited to five (5) credits per subject. See Rule 64B11-5.001(4)for additional information regarding documentation.

Continuing education hours can only be credited after one is licensed and within the current biennium dates in which they are taken when renewing a Clear/Active license.

CE Reporting Information →

Sours: https://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/renewals/

Content provided by the Florida Department of Health presented herein is for informational purposes only. The Department has not screened each individual or organization that appears on this site or that is electronically linked to this site. The appearance of an individual or organization on this site is not intended as or in any manner serves as an endorsement of that individual or organization or any products or services identified on the individual’s or organization’s site. The Department disclaims any and all warranties with regard to the Website and Website information, including without limitation (A) Any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, infringement or title, (B) Any warranty of quality, functionality, operability, use or performance of the Website or Website information, (C) Any warranty of the accuracy completeness or validity of data or information communicated through the Website or included in the Website information, (D) Any warranty of the continuous availability of the Website or Website information, or that the Website or Website information will be uninterrupted or error-free, (E) Any warranty that the Website information or other files or data available for access or downloading will be free of infection, viruses, or other code manifesting harmful, contaminating, or destructive properties, or (F) Any warranties arising from course of dealing, trade usage, trade practice or otherwise. In addition, the Department does not represent or warrant that any defects in the Website or errors in the Website information will be corrected. In addition, the department does not warrant either expressly or by implication any individual, organization, product or service appearing on this site or that is electronically linked to this site. The department strongly urges all users of this site to conduct their own investigation of any individual, organization, product or service appearing on this site or that is electronically linked to this site.

Various clipart and image collections appearing on this site are used under license by the department or its web managers for this site. These images are for viewing purposes only. Any reproduction may be prohibited under federal/state copyright or trade secret laws.

Sours: https://www.flhealthsource.gov/
  1. Critical role original character intro
  2. Southern kitchen designs
  3. Amazon india locations
  4. Volkswagen beetle 2009

Florida Board of Physical Therapy - Licensing, Renewal, Resources, Meetings and Information

The Board plays a leading role in the ever-changing health care environment through dialogue with the public, the legislature, academia, and the community. The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members are licensed opticians and two members are laypersons. Despite the expiration of their term, Board members continue to serve until they have been replaced. The Department of Health's Division of Medical Quality Assurance serves as the principle administrative support unit for the Board. The Board is supported by a full-time professional staff based in Tallahassee, and its regulatory functions are funded in full by fees paid by its licensees. Board members are appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Unless filling a vacancy, members of the Board generally serve two four-year terms. Despite the expiration of a term, Board members can continue to serve until they have been either replaced or reappointed or serve the maximum of ten years as governed by s. 457.103, F.S. To learn more about becoming a member of the Board, visit the Governor’s Appointments Office website or email [email protected] To learn more about the licensure process, select the type of license you wish to apply for from the list of professions on the Licensing Page. The Board has made every effort to include the information you need to apply or renew you license on this website. You can visit our Help Center, FAQs and Resources page for frequently asked questions, links, forms, applications and other helpful information. Licensees are required to renew their licenses biennially in order to maintain the right to practice. To learn more about the renewal process, select the type of license you wish to renew from the list of professions on the Renewals Page. Our Resources Page is a tool for accessing applications, forms, publications, statutes, rules and other important information. The Board meets bimonthly, generally on the first weekend of the month. The full Board meetings include disciplinary cases, licensure approvals, correspondence items, committee reports, policy discussion items and other necessary Board actions.

Welcome to the State of Florida's Online Resource for
Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant
Licensure, Renewal and Information.

Florida law provides that an initial application must be reviewed within 30 days. Please click the button below to view the current processing times.


Frequently Asked Questions

The Fourth Quarter Performance Report for the 2020-2021 Fiscal Year has been published. The report can be viewed at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/index.html

The Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality has a search tool for searching newly licensed Health Care Practitioners and Facilities. To utilize this search tool, please click here.

HB 241 - Parents' Bill of Rights

Effective Date: July 1, 2021
HB 241 (Full Text)

Summary: The bill creates the “Parents’ Bill of Rights,” which states that licensed health care providers and facilities cannot provide services, prescribe medicine, or perform any procedure without first obtaining written parental consent unless otherwise authorized by law.

The bill requires a health care practitioner, or his or her employees, to obtain parental consent before performing health care services on a minor child and subjects health care practitioners and health care facilities to disciplinary action for violation of these parental consent requirements in certain instances. The bill includes criminal penalties as well as providing grounds for disciplinary action.

SB 530 - Nonopioid Alternatives

Effective Date: July 1, 2021
SB 530 (Full Text)

Summary:
The bill allows prescribing health care practitioners, who are required to provide information about nonopioid alternatives, to provide health care patients (or their representatives under certain circumstances) the required educational pamphlet electronically in lieu of providing a printed copy.

SB 716 - Consent for Pelvic Examinations

Effective Date: July 1, 2021
SB 716 (Full Text)

Summary:

The bill amends section 456.51, Florida Statutes, relating to informed consent for pelvic examinations. The bill excludes visual assessment, imaging, and diagnostic medical or surgical procedures from the definition of pelvic examination, requires informed verbal consent of conscious patients in addition to written consent, prescribes those circumstances when consent is not required, and limits the need for informed consent to the initial pelvic examination of a pregnant woman under certain circumstances.

SB 1770 - Genetic Counseling

Effective Date: July 1, 2021
SB 1770 (Full Text)

Summary:

The bill creates a licensed and regulated profession, genetic counseling, within the Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, in part III of chapter 483, Florida Statutes, and authorizes the new practice act to be cited as the “Genetic Counseling Workforce Act.”

The bill provides:

  • Legislative intent and findings to establish a new profession;
  • Definitions for genetic counselor;
  • Scope of practice for genetic counseling;
  • Requirements for initial licensure, renewal, and continuing education;
  • Grounds for disciplinary action and penalties; and
  • Exemptions from genetic counseling regulation for:
    • Commissioned medical officers of the United States Armed Forces or Public Health Service while on active duty; and
    • Health care practitioners as defined in section 456.001, Florida Statutes, other than genetic counselors, who are practicing within the scope of their education, training, and licensure.

The bill also amends sections 456.001 and 20.43, Florida Statutes, to include genetic counselors in the definition of a health care practitioner.

SB 1934 - Health Care Practitioner Discipline

Effective Date: July 1, 2021
SB 1934 (Full Text)

Summary:

The bill requires certain offenses be included in grounds for discipline for health care practitioners. It requires the Department of Health to issue an Emergency Order suspending the license of any health care practitioner who is arrested for committing or attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any act that would constitute a violation of certain offenses in this state or similar offenses in another jurisdiction.

If you’d like to view all 2021 bills impacting health care professions, please go to www.flhealthsource.gov/2021-bills

The Third Quarter Performance Report for the 2020-2021 Fiscal Year has been published. The report can be viewed at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/index.html

Dry Needling

Physical therapists performing dry needling in Florida are required to meet the standards set forth in section 486.117, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and rule 64B17-6.008, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)

Within 60 days of the effective date of rule 64B17-6.008, F.A.C., on April 19, 2021, or within 60 days of the intent to perform dry needling in Florida, a licensed and qualified physical therapist performing dry needling, shall submit to the Board of Physical Therapy Practice, Form DH5057-MQA, Physical Therapist Dry Needling Attestation.

An adverse medical incident that is a direct result of physical therapy treatment involving dry needling shall be reported within 15 days of the incident, using Form DH5053-MQA, Physical Therapy Dry Needling Adverse Medical Incident Report.

Law and Rule:

Forms:

ELI (Enforcement – Licensure – Information) is MQA’s new artificial intelligence system that will be transforming the customer service MQA provides by enabling the workforce to deliver exceptional service to our customers through online chat.

ELI is designed to answer common questions in a variety of different areas. Some areas include: licensure requirements, renewal requirements, fees, contact information, background screening, public records, and more.

If ELI cannot answer your question, he will ask you if you would like to be transferred to a live agent within the department. The live agent will be able to see the entire chat with ELI and help continue the conversation to help resolve your question quickly.

ELI will continue to learn from each question that gets sent to a live agent so in the future, he will be able to answer those questions.

Frequently Asked Questions:

When can I chat?

ELI is available 24/7/365. ELI is here to help during and after traditional business hours. Many of our customers work long shifts and still need to contact the department, ELI is here to help during any time of the day.

What does ELI do?

ELI is designed to answer commonly asked questions from our customers. ELI has studied the website, past calls, and past emails to determine which questions customers frequently ask.

What if ELI can’t answer my question?

ELI will transfer you to a live agent within the department, unless after core business hours of 8-6pm est. ELI will then learn from your questions so in the future, he will be able to answer them and not have to transfer you to a live agent.

Do all board websites have ELI?

Not yet, the department is currently onboarding ELI for each board website. Please check back later to see if ELI is your new employee.

I do not want to chat, I want to call, how do I do this?

Please ask ELI, he will help you find the correct contact information for your issue.

The Second Quarter Performance Report for the 2020-2021 Fiscal Year has been published. The report can be viewed at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/reports-and-publications/index.html

On 02/24/2021 Rule 64B17-9.001, F.A.C. was updated to relieve the “live” requirement for the biennium ending in November 2021 allowing all Continuing Education to be completed online.

64B17-9.001 Continuing Education.
(4) The Board will accept up to twelve contact hours for home study during a biennium. For the biennium ending November 2021 all 24 contact hours of continuing education may be obtained online or through home study.

The Department of Health (Department), Division of Medical Quality Assurance is warning Florida health care practitioners about fraudulent calls that have been received by multiple licensees.

Scammers are posing as the Department and threatening action against your health care license by demanding money and asking for personal identifying information.

The Department has posted extensive information and guidance on http://flhealthsource.gov/ and its board websites regarding licensure and fees. Licensees will never receive unsolicited calls from the Department where personal information is requested, payments are demanded, or threats against your license are made.

We want to help protect our licensees from fraud schemes. If you receive a phone call from a scammer claiming to represent the Department, do not provide any personal information and hang up immediately. If you have any questions, please call our customer contact center at (850) 488-0595.

Armed Forces Licensing
Sours: https://floridasphysicaltherapy.gov/?m
Dental (Spanish) https://www.flhealthsource.gov/ula/spanish

Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health.

If renewing BEFORE your license expires, your fees will be:

Active to Active$330.00
Inactive to Inactive$330.00
Active to Inactive$330.00
Inactive to Active$655.00
Active to Retired$55.00
Inactive to Retired$55.00

If renewing AFTER your license expires, your fees will be:

Active to Active$655.00
Inactive to Inactive$655.00
Active to Inactive$680.00
Inactive to Active$1,005.00
Active to Retired$405.00
Inactive to Retired$405.00

If renewing 120 day Notified Delinquent, your fees will be:

Active to Active$985.00
Inactive to Inactive$985.00
Active to Inactive$985.00
Inactive to Active$1,310.00
Active to Retired$710.00
Inactive to Retired$710.00

Licenses become Null & Void1 on October 1, 2020.

By submitting the appropriate renewal fees to the department, a licensee acknowledges compliance with all requirements for renewal, including continuing education.

A licensee who remains on inactive status for more than two consecutive biennial licensure cycles and who wishes to reactivate the license may be required to demonstrate competency to resume active practice by sitting for a special purpose examination or by completing other reactivation requirements.

 

 

sm_divider

1Null & Void -The licensed practitioner failed to renew their licensure status for two renewal cycles, resulting in their license expiring.

Sours: https://floridasnursinghomeadmin.gov/renewals/

Flhealthsource.gov florida

Radiologic Technology

**Important message regarding license expiration dates: As part of the response efforts to the Novel Coronavirus 2019 (COVID- 19), State Surgeon General Dr. Scott A. Rivkees issued Emergency Order DOH No. 20-012 extending the licensure renewal expiration date until November 30, 2020 for any health care practitioner with licensure renewal deadlines between August 31, 2020 and October 30, 2020.

All renewals for Radiologic Technology have moved to Licensure Services. Please do not contact the certification unit regarding renewals for this profession. You may contact licensure services at [email protected]

To read more about renewal requirements, the renewal process, profession specific renewal fees and continuing education requirements select the appropriate link from the left menu. Licensees, registrants and permit holders are required to renew their licenses biennially in order to maintain the right to practice.

The department has made every effort to include the information you need to renew your license on this website. You can visit our Help Center, Resources, and Applications and Forms page for frequently asked questions, links, forms, and other helpful information. If you have additional questions about your renewal process, please contact a renewal specialist.

Renew License


Sours: http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/radiologic-technology/renewal/index.html
Denunicia servicios de salud sin licencia

Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate CE during each renewal period, including two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors, two (2) hours in Laws and Rules in Nursing, (2) hours in Human Trafficking, and (2) hours in Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace every other biennium (every 4 years). In addition to these 24 hours of general CE, every third renewal two (2) hours of domestic violence CE must be completed for a total of 26 hours. APRN must also complete (3) hours in Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances. See Sections 456.013, 456.031, and 456.033, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B9-5, Florida Administrative Code (FAC) for more information about continuing education requirements.

A nurse who is certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements. This exemption includes general and mandatory nursing continuing education with the exception of Human Trafficking and Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances.

Nurses who hold both a RN and APRN license may use the same credit hours toward both licenses but must make sure to report them under both licenses for CE compliance.

Sours: https://floridasnursing.gov/nursing-faqs/renewal/

Now discussing:

.



918 919 920 921 922